Springettsbury Police Department: York County Chiefs of Police and Clergy Stand Together for Justice

Springettsbury Township Police Department Statement: York County Chiefs of Police and Clergy Stand Together for Justice


We offer our deepest sympathies, condolences, and prayers to the family and friends of Mr. George Floyd.

The York County Association of Chiefs of Police and local clergy, including the Black Ministers Association of York County, stand united in our outrage and condemnation of the reprehensible use of deadly force by police officers in Minneapolis, MN that led to the senseless and tragic death of Mr. George Floyd. There can be no allowance in law enforcement for officers who commit such heinous acts, or for officers who fail to intervene and stop the commission of these acts. We hold faith that the criminal actions of the officers will be charged appropriately as a result of a thorough investigation.

The policing of our community is a high and noble calling that requires our community’s police officers to possess the highest integrity and fairness. The York County Association of Chiefs of Police continues to uphold our commitment that law enforcement officers treat all individuals, whether they are a complainant, suspect, or defendant, with the full dignity and respect they deserve as human beings. It is our commitment to hold our own law enforcement officers to the highest standards of accountability when they fail to abide by these standards. We hold these principles as the bedrock upon which procedural justice and police legitimacy stand.

As Chiefs of Police and Clergy, we stand united in the pursuit of a thriving and just York County.

About Our Partnership

It was our joint concern over unrest in our nation surrounding the fair policing of our communities, that led us to begin meeting together in 2016. Since 2016, our vision has been that York develops a reputation as One York: a peaceful and thriving community whereas:

○ Mutual respect, trust, transparency, and cooperation exist between law enforcement and community

○ Our community is policed with fairness and justice resulting in safety and peace

Signed in unity together,

Chief Timothy Damon
York Area Regional Police

Pastor Bill Kerney
President, Black Ministers Association

Chief Todd King
Springettsbury Township Police

Rev. Aaron Anderson
CEO, Logos Academy

Chief John Snyder
West Manchester Township Police

Dr. Larry Walthour
Pastor, Shiloh Baptist Church

Chief George Swartz
Spring Garden Township Police

Bishop Carl Scott
Pastor, Bible Tabernacle Church

Commissioner Osborne Robinson
York City Police

Rev. Paul Atkinson
Director of Team Development, LCBC Church

Chief Matthew Millsaps
West York Borough Police

Pastor Ramona Kinard
Pastor, Wheatfield Church of the Living God

Chief David Lash
Northern York Regional Police

Rev. Bob Riedy
Pastor, Church of the Open Door
Chief Michael Muldrow
York City School District Police

Pastor Carlos Kelly
Iglesia Cristiana de York E.C. / The Next Step E.C.

Chief Thomas Wargo
Carroll Township Police

Rev. Ben Murray
Pastor, Noble City Church

Chief Guy Hettinger
Penn Township Police

Brian Rice, Brian Newman, Donavan Bratton
Pastors, Living Word Community Church

Chief Jason Loper
Fairview Township Police

Rev. Eric Hillegas
Rector, St. John’s Episcopal Church

Chief David Arnold
Lower Windsor Township Police

Bishop Danny Evans
Temple of Grace Ministries

Chief Steven Lutz
Newberry Township Police

Bishop Anthony Sease
Pastor, New Covenant Community Church

Chief Chad Martin
Hanover Borough Police

Rev. Oscar Rossum, Sr.
Executive Member, Black Ministers Association

Chief Doug Pollock
Hellam Township Police

Alex Gilbert
Lead Pastor, Zeal Church

Chief Bryan Rizzo
Northeastern Regional Police

The Rev. Joel Folkemor
Pastor, Union Lutheran Church

Chief Jim Boddington
Southern Regional Police

Rev. Brian Kannel
Pastor, York Alliance Church

Chief Edwin J. Schneider
West Manheim Township Police

Rev. Allison Beaulieu, Rev. Kyle Gott
Pastors, First Presbyterian Church

Rev. Bob Tome
Interim Lead Pastor, Genesis Church

Rev. Jim Tyson
GVI Project Manager

Rev. Mark Kearse
Pastor, Cornerstone Baptist Church

Pastor Shelby Scott
Bible Tabernacle Christian Center

Rev. Michael D. Jefferson
Bible Tabernacle Christian Center

Dr. Melvin Baber
Pastor, Friendship Baptist Church

Rev. Joe Ercoli
Discipleship Pastor, Genesis Church

Rev. Josh Kleinfeld, Rev. Kent Vandervort
Pastors, Stillmeadow Church of the Nazarene

Danny Haas, Trevor Williams
Pastors, Redemption International Ministries

Rev. Kevin T. Shively, Rev. Keith Fair
Pastors, St. Matthew Lutheran Church

Rev. Grant Ambrose
Rector, St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church

Sheriff Richard Keuerleber
York County Sheriff’s Office

Dave Sunday
District Attorney, York County District Attorney’s Office

Dr. Aaron Willford, Jr.
Pastor, Bethlehem Baptist Church

Rev. Adrian Boxley
Pastor, Jabez Ministries